Skip navigation

Quite a few years ago, I had an idea for a Doom mod. Basically, you’d go around shooting things up and causing mayhem (i.e. the basic premise of Doom) but you’d also have to use your brains a bit, and solve environment-related puzzles, a la Hexen. The difference being that said puzzles would be relevant to the plot, a little more involving than the “pull nine switches” or “get some gems” variety found in Hexen, and actually solvable using intuition and a bit of common sense. Since I had that idea, my rig got upgraded and I found myself unable to play Doom for some reason – so that was that. But after I got a new laptop, I found this one could run it, and having been made redundant recently I had plenty of spare time in which to realise this project.

The plot begins with the military losing contact with a remote, windswept base in the Scottish isles containing an experimental facility deep underground – so they send a squad of marines to investigate. Along the way, a series of strange and gruesome accidents befall your colleagues in the back of the truck; when you arrive at the base, you’re on your own. The base suddenly seems a lot more intimidating now… okay, okay, it’s nothing original, but it’s the execution that counts.

I shall be developing this as and when I have the time for it; each hub will be released as it’s completed, so any interested parties won’t be waiting months, possibly years for a full project to appear that may never get finished.
Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

